Coworking Reinventing the art of working

In just a few years, coworking has become a worldwide phenomenon. The trend is confirmed in all major European cities where pure players, with means that are far from those of the coworking pioneers, live with local coworking brands. Coworking has become a way of life for a very diverse public. Its first followers were freelancers from the digital economy (developers, web designers...), then joined by freelancers from all sectors (graphic designers, consultants, journalists, lawyers...), business creators and startups, students and digital nomads. And today, large companies are not left out since their employees represent nearly 40% of coworkers!

Find your coworking space in Lille!

In 1995, the first shared workspace was born in Berlin, considered as a precursor of coworking: the C-base, a hackerspace hosting an association of computer scientists. In 2002, Austria was also a pioneer in opening the Schraubenfabrik, a community space for companies. But it was in 2006 in San Francisco, with the creation of the Hat Factory, the first full-time coworking space, that this new way of working really took off. The first official European spaces were then created, in 2007 in Barcelona, in 2008 in Paris and in 2009 in Berlin. At the end of 2017, 1.2 million people were working in nearly 14,000 coworking spaces on five continents.

An ecosystem in tune with changes in the workplace
The rise of coworking is inextricably linked to that of the sharing economy, which, in response to the 2008 crisis, has stimulated the sharing of goods (cars, housing, parking, etc.), services (carpooling, do-it-yourself, etc.) and knowledge (online courses and tutorials, local exchange systems, etc.). This societal upheaval takes advantage of the digital technologies with which the Millennials generation has grown up and which will represent 1/3 of the active population in 2020. Attached to the notions of autonomy and mobility, these digital natives find them in their professional life, companies integrating more and more practices from the collaborative economy in their management approach.

Find your coworking space in Nantes!

Work organizations are thus emancipating themselves from the traditional vertical hierarchical model to favor transversality, conviviality and co-creativity between employees. Telecommuting is facilitated and intrapreneurship is encouraged, allowing an employee to transform a project into a profitable activity within his or her company. Whether the reason is generational or linked to past experience, employees make quality of life at work, cross-fertilization (mutual enrichment) and sharing of skills within the company, priorities. And coworking is one of the answers to these expectations, which are real challenges in attracting and retaining talent.

A response to the need for flexibility in the company
Coworking spaces are the auxiliary of the decentralization of companies and their internationalization, which generate an increased mobility of the employees in search of reliable and comfortable places to work when they travel. They are also an alternative to traditional office rental, appreciated by companies whose financial resources do not allow them to commit to firm leases or to invest in equipment. Finally, these spaces are ideal for experimenting with new work methods and promoting managerial and behavioral changes within teams.

Find your coworking space in Rennes!

Often limited by the company to the outsourcing of an R&D cell or the implementation of telecommuting, the notion of 'third places' takes a new dimension through the rise of coworking spaces. Their use allows them to be established in the most sought-after areas of city centers, where vacant spaces are scarce. They also represent a "turnkey" response to quality of life issues at work by reducing, for example, travel time, which can have a real impact on employee productivity.

As a missing link in the real estate chain, coworking spaces offer a new range of solutions designed to meet the growing need for flexibility of companies and their activities. The flexibility they provide remains their main asset, but the profitability of this type of rental will depend to a large extent on its duration. This is why one of the criteria to be assessed as a priority, before installing a start-up or the team of a major account working in project mode, will be the predictability or not of the business model of the activity concerned. Critical size of teams, integration of future recruitments, evolution in surface of work spaces: the use of flex office will represent the best option for the company which lacks visibility on these various elements. Independently of its intangible contribution, and compared to standard real estate costs, one of the advantages of coworking is the fact that you can leave when you want, without having to pay for the financial depreciation of office equipment.

Find your coworking space in Montpellier!

Whether they are urban, suburban or more rarely rural, these third places of the future are now attracting a growing number of companies that were previously highly centralized.

Coworking An attractive market

While the original spirit of coworking was based on the possibility of bringing together a community, the economic model of the new players is closer to the business and service center 2.0. Alongside pure players such as the American WeWork, we are seeing the arrival of real estate giants in this future niche. The Regus group, the world leader in business centers, has acquired Spaces, a pure player created in 2006 in Amsterdam. In England, the American Blackstone, one of the world's largest investment funds, has become a majority shareholder in TOG (The Office Group), an operator with spaces in more than 30 London buildings.

Find your coworking space in Grenoble!

In France, the real estate company Gecina has created its subsidiary Secondesk, offering its clients' employees a "second office". The startup Kwerk has joined forces with the developer Les Nouveaux Constructeurs. The global group Accor Hotels has invested in the Wojo brand. Today, employees, whether seconded by their company or on the move, are investing in coworking spaces in large numbers. Specific activities have been set up to develop a community aimed at facilitating exchanges and innovation by blurring the boundaries between professions and functions, and creating synergies between players inside and outside the company.

Differentiation through the service offering
Like any emerging market with strong potential, coworking has seen the number of players grow exponentially. Faced with the competition, each brand is competing creatively to enrich its offer with an ever-increasing number of additional services. Independently of the flexibility provided by the subscription formulas (by the hour, by the week, by the month), they give the workspaces a practical added value that fully meets the expectations of coworkers.

The initiatives that bring a new dimension to the attractiveness of coworking take a variety of forms, reflecting a real premiumization of the offer. Some are directly linked to the exercise of the professional activity: business domiciliation, administrative and technical assistance, private offices and meeting rooms, shared web platform, thematic training, individual and collective coaching. Other facilities contribute to the improvement of the quality of life and the conviviality of the environment: concierge service, crèche, bar, canteen, equipped kitchen, library, fitness or relaxation room. Coworkers can also benefit from the permanent support of a Chief Happiness Officer (CHO) in charge of animating this new entrepreneurial culture by organizing conferences and events for example. Most of these high-end services are part of the hospitality management philosophy, and a growing number of hotel groups are developing a coworking offer targeting primarily mobile workers.

Find your coworking space in Rouen !

Like incubators focused on innovation or start-ups, more and more coworking spaces are specializing by theme. They bring together a community, composed of entities from the same sector of activity or the same niche. The goal is to exchange around common issues, to form a qualified network, vector of synergies and strategic partnerships. To do so, we will focus on the pooling of skills and the sharing of best practices. Among the activities that lend themselves best to specialized coworking are the fields of ICT, marketing, retail, fintech, real estate and media.

Coworking brings together a community of entities that can pool their skills and form a network that generates synergies. It offers its coworkers spaces adapted to their project, a level of services equal to that of large groups and a unique lifestyle@work. For the employer, coworking confers the positive image of a decision-maker who favors management by objectives and willingly gives free rein to creativity and individual initiatives. For the company that subscribes to it, coworking spaces offer a complementary real estate solution that provides flexibility and better productivity thanks to a new form of agility. The PropTech players will certainly contribute to this!

Find your coworking space in Aix en Provence!

But let's not be mistaken, coworking is not a guarantee for the success of a project, the launch of a start-up, the change of managerial mindset, the modernization or the digitalization of a company. It is not the new real estate scheme that would like companies to no longer have their own offices but to allow their employees to develop their creativity anywhere in the world.

Above all, coworking is the phenomenon that materializes the need to take into account the speed with which the world is changing and with which economic actors must evolve!

Corpoworking : Integrating coworking in the heart of the company
Also called intra-company coworking, corpoworking consists, for a company, in creating a collaborative space for its employees within the company or in an existing coworking space. More than just a simple space layout, this initiative should stimulate a new organization of work. It meets several challenges:

facilitating informal meetings between employees working at different sites or in different departments, allowing a stopover between two meetings and thus reducing travel time, optimizing space and reducing real estate costs, taking a step back and adopting a new vision of one's daily life, or even bringing out new work methods. When the space hosts external structures with which the company is used to working or not, it can become a place of creativity and encourage open innovation collaborations, while keeping in mind the issues of confidentiality. In Paris, in Orange's Villa Bonne Nouvelle, several project teams have been working since 2014 to study the impact of digital on the development of social quality and economic performance at work. In Heidelberg, Germany, SAP opened the AppHaus in 2013 for its employees, customers and partners. Half of the space is dedicated to a workshop to organize meetings between the different parties.

Besoin de plus de 10 postes ?

workin vous accompagne afin de trouver l'espace de coworking qui vous convient ! 

Faire une demande sur mesure !

Le Coworking : Réinventer l'art de travailler

En quelques années seulement, le coworking est devenu un phénomène mondial. La tendance se confirme dans l’ensemble des grandes villes européennes où les pure players, dotés de moyens sans commune mesure avec ceux des pionniers du coworking, vivent avec les marques de coworking locales. Pratiqué par un public fortement diversifié, le coworking est désormais entré dans les mœurs. Ses premiers adeptes furent des freelances de l’économie numérique (développeurs, web designers...), ensuite rejoints par des travailleurs indépendants de tous secteurs (graphistes, consultants, journalistes, juristes...), des créateurs d’entreprises et startupers, des étudiants et des digital nomads. Et aujourd’hui, les grandes entreprises ne sont pas en reste puisque leurs salariés représentent près de 40 % des coworkers !

C’est à Berlin en 1995 que naît le premier espace de travail partagé, considéré comme précurseur du coworking : le C-base, un hackerspace accueillant une association d’informaticiens. En 2002, l’Autriche fait également figure de pionnière en ouvrant la Schraubenfabrik, espace communautaire destiné aux entreprises. Mais c’est en 2006 à San Francisco, via la création de la Hat Factory, premier espace de coworking ouvert à temps plein, que ce nouveau mode de travail prend son véritable essor. Les premiers espaces européens officiels voient ensuite le jour, en 2007 à Barcelone, en 2008 à Paris et en 2009 à Berlin. Fin 2017, 1,2 million de personnes travaillait dans près de 14 000 espaces de coworking répartis sur les cinq continents.

Un écosystème en phase avec les mutations du travail

L’essor du coworking est indissociable de celui de la sharing economy qui, en réaction à la crise de 2008, a stimulé le partage de biens (voiture, logement, parking...), de services (covoiturage, bricolage...) ou de savoirs (cours et tutoriaux en ligne, systèmes d’échange local...). Ce bouleversement sociétal met à profit les technologies numériques avec lesquelles a grandi la génération des Millennials qui représentera 1/3 de la population active en 2020. Attachés aux notions d’autonomie et de mobilité, ces digital natives les retrouvent dans leur vie professionnelle, les entreprises intégrant de plus en plus des pratiques issues de l’économie collaborative dans leur approche du management.

Les organisations du travail s’émancipent ainsi du modèle hiérarchique vertical traditionnel pour favoriser la transversalité, la convivialité et la cocréativité entre salariés. On facilite le télétravail et encourage l’intrapreneuriat qui permet à un collaborateur de transformer un projet en activité rentable au sein de sa société. Que la raison soit générationnelle ou liée à une expérience passée, les salariés font de la qualité de vie au travail, de la cross fertilisation (enrichissement mutuel) et du partage des compétences au sein de l’entreprise, des priorités. Et le coworking est l’une des réponses données à ces attentes, véritables enjeux de l’attraction et de la rétention des talents.

Une réponse au besoin de flexibilité de l’entreprise

Les espaces de coworking sont les auxiliaires de la décentralisation des entreprises et de leur internationalisation, lesquelles engendrent une mobilité accrue des salariés en quête de lieux de travail fiables et confortables lors de leurs déplacements. Ils constituent également une alternative à la location classique de bureaux, appréciée par les entreprises dont la surface financière ne permet pas de s’engager sur des baux fermes ou d’investir dans l’achat d’équipements. Ce sont enfin des espaces propices à l’expérimentation de nouvelles méthodes de travail ainsi qu’à la promotion de changements tant managériaux que comportementaux au sein des équipes.

Souvent limitée par l’entreprise à l’externalisation d’une cellule de R&D ou à la mise en œuvre du télétravail, la notion de ‘tiers-lieux’ prend une nouvelle dimension au travers de l’essor des espaces de coworking. Leur utilisation permet de s’implanter dans les zones les plus recherchées des centres-villes, là où les espaces vacants se font rares. Ils représentent également une réponse ‘clé en main’ aux problématiques de la qualité de vie au travail en réduisant par exemple les temps de transport, ce qui peut dès lors avoir un véritable impact sur la productivité des salariés.

Constituant un maillon manquant de la chaîne immobilière, les espaces de coworking proposent une nouvelle gamme de solutions conçues pour répondre au besoin croissant de flexibilité des entreprises et de leurs activités. Cette souplesse qu’ils procurent demeurant leur principal atout, la rentabilité de ce type de location dépendra pour beaucoup de sa durée. C’est pourquoi l’un des critères à apprécier en priorité, avant d’y installer une start-up ou l’équipe d’un grand compte travaillant en mode projet, sera la prédictibilité ou non du business model de l’activité concernée. Taille critique des équipes, intégration de futurs recrutements, évolution en superficie des espaces de travail : le recours au flex office représentera la meilleure option pour l’entreprise qui manque de visibilité sur ces différents éléments. Indépendamment de son apport immatériel, et comparé aux coûts immobiliers standards, l’un des avantages du coworking tient en outre au fait qu’on peut en sortir au moment voulu, sans avoir à s’acquitter d’amortissements financiers liés à l’achat d’équipements bureautiques.

Qu’ils soient urbains, suburbains ou plus rarement ruraux, ces tiers-lieux d’avenir séduisent désormais un nombre croissant d’entreprises jusqu’alors fortement centralisées.

 

Le coworking, Un marché attractif

Si pour les pionniers l’esprit originel du coworking reposait surtout sur la possibilité de fédérer une communauté, le modèle économique des nouveaux acteurs se rapproche du centre d’affaires et de services 2.0. Aux côtés de pure players comme l’américain WeWork, on assiste ainsi à l’arrivée des géants de l’immobilier sur ce créneau d’avenir. Le groupe Regus, leader mondial des centres d’affaires, a acquis Spaces, un pure player créé en 2006 à Amsterdam. En Angleterre, l’américain Blackstone, l’un des plus importants fonds d’investissement du monde, est devenu actionnaire majoritaire de TOG (The Office Group), opérateur détenant des espaces dans plus d’une trentaine d’immeubles londoniens.

En France, la foncière Gecina a créé sa filiale Secondesk, proposant aux salariés de ses clients un “second bureau”. La startup Kwerk s’est associée au promoteur Les Nouveaux Constructeurs. Le groupe mondial Accor Hotels a quant à lui investi dans la marque Wojo. aujourd’hui, les salariés, détachés par leur entreprise ou en mobilité, investissent en nombre les espaces de coworking. Une animation spécifique y est mise en place pour développer une communauté visant à faciliter les échanges et l’innovation en effaçant les frontières entre métiers et fonctions, en créant des synergies entre acteurs internes et externes à l’entreprise.

Une différenciation par l’offre de services

Comme tout marché émergent doté d’un fort potentiel, le coworking a rapidement vu le nombre de ses acteurs croître de façon exponentielle. Face à la concurrence, chaque marque rivalise de créativité pour enrichir son offre d’un volet de services additionnels de plus en plus étoffés. Indépendamment de la souplesse procurée par les formules d’abonnement (à l’heure, à la semaine, au mois), ils confèrent aux espaces de travail une valeur ajoutée pratique correspondant pleinement aux attentes des coworkers.

Traduisant une véritable premiumisation de l’offre, les initiatives apportant une nouvelle dimension à l’attractivité du coworking prennent les formes les plus variées. Certaines sont directement liées à l’exercice de l’activité professionnelle : domiciliation, assistance administrative et technique, bureaux et salles de réunions privés, plateforme web partagée, formations thématiques, coaching individuel et collectif. D’autres installations concourent davantage à l’amélioration de la qualité de vie et à la convivialité de l’environnement : conciergerie, crèche, bar, cantine, cuisine équipée, bibliothèque, salle de fitness ou de détente. Les coworkers peuvent également bénéficier du soutien permanent d’un Chief Happiness Officer (CHO) chargé d’animer cette nouvelle culture entrepreneuriale en organisant par exemple des conférences et des événements. La plupart de ces services haut de gamme participant de la philosophie de l’hospitality management, on voit par ailleurs un nombre croissant de groupes hôteliers développer une offre de coworking ciblant en priorité les travailleurs nomades.

À l’instar des incubateurs axés sur l’innovation ou l’accompagnement des jeunes entreprises, de plus en plus d’espaces de coworking se spécialisent par thématique. Ils rassemblent une communauté, composée d’entités d’un même secteur d’activité ou d’un même créneau. Le but est d’échanger autour de problématiques communes, de former un réseau qualifié, vecteur de synergies et de partenariats stratégiques. On y privilégiera pour ce faire la mutualisation des compétences ainsi que le partage des best practices. Parmi les activités se prêtant le mieux à un coworking spécialisé figurent notamment les domaines des TIC, du marketing, du retail, de la fintech, de l’immobilier et des médias.

Le coworking rassemble une communauté composée d’entités pouvant mutualiser leurs compétences et former un réseau générateur de synergies. À ses coworkers, il propose des espaces adaptés à leur projet, un niveau de services à la hauteur de celui des grands groupes et un [email protected] inédit. À l’employeur, le coworking confère l’image positive d’un décideur privilégiant un management par objectifs et laissant volontiers libre cours à la créativité et aux initiatives individuelles. À l’entreprise qui y souscrit, les espaces de coworking présentent une solution immobilière complémentaire lui offrant flexibilité et meilleure productivité grâce à une nouvelle forme d’agilité.

Mais ne nous y trompons pas, le coworking n’est pas garant de la réussite d’un projet, du lancement d’une start-up, du changement d’état d’esprit managérial, de la modernisation ou de la digitalisation d’une entreprise. Il n’est pas non plus le nouveau schéma immobilier qui voudrait que les entreprises ne disposent plus de bureaux propres mais permettent à leurs salariés de développer leur créativité partout dans le monde.

Le coworking, c’est surtout le phénomène qui matérialise la nécessité de prendre en compte la rapidité avec laquelle le monde change et avec laquelle les acteurs économiques doivent évoluer !

Corpoworking : Intégrer le coworking au cœur de l’entreprise

Appelé aussi coworking intra-entreprise, le corpoworking consiste, pour une entreprise, à créer à destination de ses salariés un espace collaboratif en son sein ou dans un lieu de coworking déjà existant. Plus qu’un simple aménagement d’espace, cette initiative doit impulser une nouvelle organisation du travail. Elle répond à plusieurs enjeux :

faciliter les rencontres informelles entre collaborateurs évoluant sur différents sites ou dans différents services, permettre une escale entre deux rendez-vous et ainsi réduire les temps de trajet, optimiser l’espace et diminuer les coûts immobiliers, prendre du recul et adopter une vision nouvelle de son quotidien ou encore faire émerger des nouvelles méthodes de travail. Lorsque l’espace accueille des structures extérieures avec lesquelles l’entreprise a l’habitude de travailler ou pas, il peut devenir un lieu de créativité et favoriser les collaborations d’open innovation, tout en gardant à l’esprit les questions de confidentialité. À Paris, dans la Villa Bonne Nouvelle d’Orange, se succèdent depuis 2014 plusieurs équipes projets afin d’étudier l’impact du digital sur le développement de la qualité sociale et de la performance économique au travail. À Heidelberg en Allemagne, la société SAP a ouvert en 2013 l’AppHaus pour ses collaborateurs, clients et partenaires. La moitié de l’espace est dédiée à un atelier pour organiser des rencontres entre les différentes parties.